Just When You Think It’s Safe To Go To The Bank

It had to be a Double-Dog-Dare

…Or the start of a bank robbery.  No one in their right mind would otherwise think this was a good idea.

Apparently the curb-cut and the pedestrian cross walk threw this guy off.  Why would anyone NOT think this was a parking space?

Apparently the curb-cut and the pedestrian cross walk threw this guy off. Why would anyone NOT think this was a parking space?

As I was standing outside of my fine financial institution, at the ATM finishing up a deposit, the sound of a car engine too close off my left flank caused me to turn around quickly.  Instantaneous braking and the rush of car doors opening assaulted my senses and I immediately thought “Holy-moly (that’s the rated G version) I’m going to witness a bank robbery”. 

Well, it could have been!

In those split seconds when my brain, heart and stomach were all trying to process what my eyes were seeing, it dawned on me that this fine individual (a middle-aged man with a grey pony-tail and Chambray shirt) was NOT pulling a semi-automatic gun from the trunk of his black Mercedes but rather grandma’s walker…and grandpa’s too.  Additional bodies spilled from the car in what seemed to be a frenzied pace of old people.  The driver was barking commands at everyone in a language I didn’t understand (no profiling intended but maybe that could explain the lack of American driving/parking standards).

I hurried back to my vehicle wondering if the armed security guards would be spilling out of the bank’s front doors at any given moment.  The front bumper of the car was after all, only 18 inches from the entrance.

And now as a result, I completely expect to see No Parking signs posted on the sidewalks soon.

In my next moment of clarity I peeked around the back of the utility van next to my car to snap a picture; taking care not to get too close.  If the driver was capable of driving and parking on the sidewalk then who knows what else?

Safe and Sound

Happy to be back home, with groceries in the fridge and money in the bank, I realized I now have a platform to share life’s Double-Dog-Dares as they happen.  So here’s my first post in real-time rather than from the past.  Hope you enjoyed it.

Lesson to be Shared:  Just because there is a curb cut doesn’t mean you can drive up onto a sidewalk…even if Grandma Double-Dog-Dared you!

Have you ever witnessed something like this?  Tell me….

2 responses to “Just When You Think It’s Safe To Go To The Bank

  1. Funny! And a little bit scary–glad he didn’t actually hit anyone. Sheesh.

    I like the premise of your entire blog…very inspiring.

Go ahead...leave a comment! I double-dog-dare you! (Plus I really, really want to hear from you)

