Joy To Me! (Not Just the World)

Raindrops on Roses

And Whiskers on Kittens

Bright Copper Kettle and Warm Woolen Mittens…..

Sung by Maria, The Sound Of Music

TheSoundOfMusic

The Muses are Loud Today…

…clear messages from both my four-legged ones and the other two-legged ones that orbit in my universe.

Today’s topic is JOY.  Loud and Clear.

Not because the Holidays are nearly upon us, but because I was reminded today how critical this basic, primal emotion is to all things big and small.

My four-legged Muses are truly on a tear today.  This is Day-2 of my domestic goddess weekend which means my hair is in a pony, the vacuum is running, the water is flowing and I am home.

The degree of the tail bend reflects the degree of Joy!

The degree of the tail bend reflects the degree of Joy!

This brings Joy to my puppies.  Being home all day yesterday exhausted them as they moved from room to room with me wondering what was up.  Today they have settled in to the routine and have added romping, tussling and chasing to their agenda.

And then earlier this morning I was reminded through a conversation with a good friend about my need for joy and how much I value the ability to feel it.

I believe Joy comes from the small stuff.  It is the foundation necessary to support the outer-level feelings like happiness, glee, ecstasy…those fleeting feelings that live on the highest end of the emotional spectrum.

Maybe I was really affected by Sister Maria (aka Julie Andrews) in the Sound of Music singing about her favorite things.  They are so small yet so meaningful and an anchor for her when the world gets to be too much.

So, I asked my BFF the following question this morning…

What brings you Joy?  List specifics….

(Rules to the Game:  It can’t include your work or individual people in your life like “being a mommy” or “my job”).

Here are mine (to the tune of “My Favorite Things”)… You go next… (Sing it out loud if you must)

note

…Pink clouds at sunset, A full moon just rising

Stars in the night sky, and sports cars fast driving

Scruffy dogs wrestling and tussling with glee

These are a few things that bring JOY to me!

…Sitting near water, on boats or on beach chairs

Tossing into waves all of life’s dark cares

Smiles from the strangers I meet on the street

These are my things for a happy heart beat!

…When the fog comes, when the doubt creeps, when I’m feeling low

I just remember to go paint my toes….

…Cooking for family, for old and for new friends

Yummy glasses of wine that seem never to end

Laughter and stories and new memories begin

These are the things that help my heart to mend….

…When the storm comes,

When life’s price stings

When I’m feeling sad

These are the things that can make my heart sing

And then I don’t feel so bad!

Your turn!  I double-dog-dare you to list your joy!

image

13 Days left for the 30-day NaBloPoMo Blogging Challenge!

NaBloPoMo_November_blogroll_small

One response to “Joy To Me! (Not Just the World)

  1. Sweet “I love you’s”, whispered after midnight…

    Morning squeezes, and kisses from my son-light….

    Gestures of kindness, unrequested and stringless…

    Floating in water, and listening to stillness…

    The crashing of waves, toes splashing and squishing…

    Butterflies, playing, flapping, and floating…

    Early mornings, quiet, full of intention…

    Dreaming of impact, and starting with the “end”…

    Writing, expressing, conjuring magic…

    Planning and playing, trusting yet strategic…

    Friends who hold spaces and don’t try to fix me…

    Roaring fires, and cuddles under my blankie…

    Soaking in sun rays, napping and drifting…

    Feet pitter and patting, eyes obviously all-seeing…

    Books that ask me questions and invoke inspiration…

    New experiences, uncomfortable but clearly transformation…

    Art, born of eyes overwhelmed with beauty…

    Music, divined from pain, creating medicine truly…

    Divine love notes, delivered through epic movies…

    Vulnerability, ugly cries, and deliverance from old stories…

    Limits shattering, possibilities unfolding…

    Magic, synchronicity, divine support revealing…

    Awakened…
    Seeing…

    Inspired…
    Expecting…

    Upside-down…
    Revealing…

    Safety…
    Cocooning…

    Breakthrough…
    Emerging…

    Practice…
    Training…

    Wind…
    Trusting…

    Attracting…
    Receiving…
    Loving…
    Giving…

    Being…

Go ahead...leave a comment! I double-dog-dare you! (Plus I really, really want to hear from you)

